World Cup Journey 2023 : New Zealand’s Remarkable Journey from 1975 to 2019

New Zealand: The performance of New Zealand in the ODI World Cup has been simply outstanding. In the 12 World Cups held from 1975 to 2019, the squad made it to the semifinals six times and reached championship game twice.

New Zealand’s ODI World Cup performance:

New Zealand made it to the finals in each of the last two ODI World Cups. They finished second in the 2015 World Cup, where Australia upset them, and England prevented them from winning the title in 2019. In addition to these two finals, New Zealand has made it to the semi-finals six other times in the 12 ODI World Cup tournaments they have participated in, but they have yet to win the championship. Notably, India was eliminated from the 2019 World Cup semifinals by the Kiwi squad.

From the first Men’s ODI World Cup in 1975 to the current one in 2019, New Zealand has only experienced group stage elimination twice. The Indian team won the championship for the first time that year, in 1983. The Kiwi team was again eliminated in the group stage the following season (1987).

Semifinalists from the Early Editions:

In both of the World Cup’s first tournaments, in 1975 and 1979, New Zealand advanced to the semifinal round. After that, the group advanced to the 1992 World Cup semifinals. The Kiwi squad later advanced to the semifinals in the 1999 competition. Following that, they regularly advanced to the semifinals in both the 2007 and 2011 competitions. In the 12 World Cup iterations, New Zealand made it to the semifinals six times in this manner.

Missed Chances in the Past Four Seasons:

New Zealand had four seasons in which to win the World Cup, missing out on the 2007, 2011, 2015, and 2019 editions. The team made up to the semifinals in 2007 and 2011, and then in the editions from 2015 and 2019, the Kiwi team made it to the finals on both times but came in second.

The World Cup experience of New Zealand from 1975 to 2019:

1975: Semi-finalists ( Nz Vs West indies )

1979: Semi-finalists ( Eng Vs Nz )

1983: Group stage

1987: Group stage

1992: Semi-finalists ( pak Vs Nz )

1996: Quarter-finalists ( Nz Vs Aus )

1999: Semi-finalists ( Nz Vs  Pak )

2003: Super 6

2007: Semi-finalists ( Nz vs Pak )

2011: Semi-finalists ( Nz Vs Sl )

2015: Runners-up ( Nz Vs Aus )

2019: Runners-up. ( Nz Vs Eng )

Also Read :

Leave a Comment